Who Is Congress Leader?

6 Min Read

Congress is the oldest political party formed in India and it has been run by many Congress leader who was legendary people such as Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru, and Indira Gandhi, and more currently, it is run by Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi, and. It is a party that is completely rooted in most regions of India. For several decades now this party has been a part of India. But do you know who is the current leader of the Congress party? To know who is leading this party as of 2024, so read this blog till the end.

Who Is The Current Congress Leader?

The current Congress leader is none other than Mallikarjun Kharge. He has been the leader of the Congress party since 2022 and his place of conference is New Delhi. He is leading the party in the 2024 Lok Sabha election after back-to-back debacles in 2014 and 2019 in which it got 44 and 52.

He is also the chairperson of the India bloc. He started his political career as an MLA in 1972 and he was a Lok Sabha MP for around three consecutive terms from 2009 and then he officially made his entry in Rajya Sabha in 2020.

Who Is Mallikarjun Kharge?

Congress Leader

Mallikarjun Khage is an Indian politician and a lawyer. He is the current Congress leader. He is the President of the India National Congress since 2021. He has been a Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha from Karnataka since 2020.

He was the official chairperson of the Public Accounts Committee in the 16th Lok Sabha from 2016 to 2019. At the time of the UPA2 government, he served as the Minister of Labour and Employment from 2009 to 2013 in the Union Cabinet.

He was a Member of Parliament for Gulbarga, Karnataka from 2009 to 2019. Kharge was also a general secretary of the All India Congress Committee and was in charge of Maharashtra from 2018 to 2020.

Also read: Lok Sabha Election Results 2024: PM Modi Made History By Winning For The 3rd Time In A Row

List of All Congress Party Leaders

No.LeaderYear of Presidency
11885Women Chunder Bonnerjee
21886Dadabhai Naoroji
31887Badruddin Tyabji
41888George Yule
51889Willaim Wedderburn
61890Pherozeshah Mehta
71891Panapakkam Anandacharlu
81892Womesh Chandra Banerjee
91893Dadabhai Naoroji
191894Alfred Webb
111895Suredranath Banerjee
121896Rahimtulla M. Sayani
131897Anandamohan Bose
141898Anandamohan Bose
151899Romesh Chunder Dutt
161900 N.G. Chandavarkar
171901Dinshaw Edulji Wacha
181902Surendranath Banerjee
191903Lalmohan Ghosh
201904Henry John Stedman Cotton
211905Gopal Krisgna Gokhale
221906Dadabhai Naoroji
231907Satyendra Prasanna Sinha
241908Rashibihari Ghosh
251909Madan Mohan Malaviya
261910William Wddersburn
271911Bishan Narayan Dar
281912Raghunath Narasinha Mudholkar
291913Nawab Syed Muhammad Bahadur
301914Bhupendra Nath Bose
311915Mahatma Gandhi
321916Ambica Charan Mazumdar
331917Annie Besant
341918Madan Mohan Malaviya
351918Syed Hasan Imam
361919Motilal Nehru
381921Hakim Ajmal Khan
391922Chittaranjan Das
401923Mohammad Ali Jauhar
411924Sarojini Naidu
421925Jawaharlal Nehru
431926S. Srinivasa Iyengar
441927Mukhtar Ahmed Ansari
451928Motilal Nehru
461929Jawaharlal Nehru
471930Jawaharlal Nehru
481931Vallabhbhai Patel
491932Madan Mohan Malaviya
501933Nellie Sengupta
511934Rajendra Prasad
521935Rajendra Prasad
531936 Jawaharlal Nehru
541937Jawaharlal Nehru
551938Subhas Chandra Bose
561939Subhas Chandra Bose
571939Rajendra Prasad
581940-46Abul Kalam Azad
591946 (July-September)P.V. Narasimha Rao
601946-47J.B. Kripalani
611948-49Bhogaraju Pattabhi Sitaramayya
621950Purushottam Das Tandon
631951-52Jawaharlal Nehru
641953Jawaharlal Nehru
651954Jawaharlal Nehru
661955U.N. Dhebar
671956U.N. Dhebar
681957U.N. Dhebar
691958U.N. Dhebar
701959U.N. Dhebar
711959Indira Gandhi
721960Neelam Sanvjiva Reddy
731961Neelam Sanvjiva Reddy
741962-63Neelam Sanvjiva Reddy
751964K. Kamaraj
761965K. Kamaraj
771966-1967K. Kamaraj
781968S. Nijalingappa
791969S. Nijalingappa
801970-1971Jagivan Ram
811972-74Shankar Dayal Sharma
821975-77Devakanta Barua
831977-79Kasu Brahmananda Reddy
841978-1983Indira Gandhi
851983Indira Gandhi
861985-1991Rajiv Gandhi
871992P.V. Narasimha Rao
881993P.V. Narasimha Rao
891994P.V. Narashima Rao
901996-1998Sitaram Kesri
911998-2001Sonia Gandhi
922001-2004Sonia Gandhi
932004-2006Sonia Gandhi
942006-2010Sonia Gandhi
952010-2017Sonia Gandhi
962017-2019Rahul Gandhi
972019-2022Sonia Gandhi
982022- Mallikarjun Kharge
Share This Article
1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *